Review: The Stolen Series by Elizabeth Naughton

Today I'm reviewing an entire series: Stolen by Elizabeth Naughton. You see here the image for the Stolen Series Box Set.

As is my custom when I review ebooks, I give the Kindle Buy Links because I read most books on my Kindle. However, I'm certain every book I review is available at most ebook sellers so look for them on the platforms that match your ebook reading device. Click here to shop for your very own Kindle.

In 2010, Ms. Naughton was a Double RITA Nominee (Best Romantic Suspense, Best First Book) for the first book of this series: Stolen Fury (Stolen Series Book #1)

Stolen Fury was offered free so I grabbed a copy. After reading the intense sexy romantic suspense, I was hooked and eagerly plunked down $3.99 for the other 2 books in the series.

The 3 Stolen Books

To unearth a centuries-old secret, an archaeologist must team up with the rakish thief who’s stolen both an ancient relic and her heart… This story features Dr. Lisa Maxwell who yields to the seduction of sexy Rafe Sullivan. When she winds up alone in bed the next morning with her treasure and her self-respect stolen, she's out to regain both along with handing out a significant amount of payback.

Stolen Heat (Stolen Series Book #2)

Antiquities dealer Peter Kauffman, introduced as Rafe's best friend and partner in Stolen Fury, is stunned to discover the only woman he ever loved did not die in a taxi bombing six years before. In all those six years while he grieved, she never once got in touch with him, and that fuels his anger when he discovers Egyptologist Katherine Meyer is alive. But, with killers looking for her -- and now for him -- she may not stay that way for long.

Stolen Seduction (Stolen Series Book #3)

Rounding out the series, is the story of Hailey Roarke, introduced as Rafe's ex-wife in Book 1, and Chicago PD Detective Shane Maxwell, also introduced in Book 1 as Lisa's twin brother.

Hailey, an ex-cop from Key West with a family that put the "dys" in dysfunctional, has been thrust into the position of head of her late father's corporation. When she meets Shane again on a trip to Chicago, and is rejected by him again, events are set in motion to frame her and force Shane to make a choice about her and what she means to him.

What Makes This Series Work

The unifying characteristics of this series are: strong characterization, believable secondary characters, good plots, excellent emotional conflict that keeps the lovers apart, and riveting sexual attraction between the characters that makes their inevitable consummation believable.

The sexual tension is intense -- just as it should be. The heroes are testosterone-fueled yet sensitive to the women they love -- to all her needs, not just sexually, but to what she needs emotionally and what she needs to be happy with who she is.

After reading 1 book, you'll be hooked so go ahead and buy the boxed set if you wish. All the books will end up on your keeper shelf. Or, grab the free book then buy books 2 and 3.

Takeaway Truth

One of my favorite poets Emily Dickinson wrote: "There is no Frigate like a Book, To take us Lands away...." That was another element of this series with settings in Egypt, Chicago, Florida, and Puerto Rico. Excellent choices for armchair traveling -- and for great romantic suspense.

No comments:

Post a Comment