National Book Awards

Since 1950, the National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner have been held each year. They are this country's highest literary prizes. Awards are given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature. Winners are selected by a five-member, independent judging panel for each genre. A cash prize of $10,000 and a crystal sculpture are presented to the winners.

This year, the winners of the 60th Annual National Book Awards were announced Thursday. A round of applause to the winners.


Let The Great World Spin by Colum McCann


The First Tycoon (Biography of Cornelius Vanderbilt) by T. J. Stiles

Young People's Literature

Claudette Colvin by Phillip Hoose


Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy by Keith Waldrop

Takeaway Truth

I can always tell how stressed, time-pressed, and tiring my year was by counting how many award-winning books I read. This year, the tally is zero.